The Abbey Theater Dublin

The National Theater of Ireland: The Abby Theater
Traditional Dance Artist Colin Dunne Performs: Session

So, I absolutely love to go to the theater..something my loving Mother instilled in me. And I was happy to hear that our group would be able to attend a performance of some interactive and interpretive dance commissioned for the fifteenth edition of the Dublin Dance Festival. A piece entitled, “Session,” a three (3) year collaboration by (dancer) Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, (dancer) Colin Dunne, (composer) Michael Gallen, and (musician) Soumik Datta. Interesting with the different sights and sounds that were implemented throughout the performance. Not really a big fan of this type of dance, although it was entertaining. The dancers were very good knew their stuff. There was a interesting juxtaposition of the different types of dancing and the odd sounds. I was trying to following the music and the dancing with knees, feet, and the rest of the body. Lots of hand movement, foot movement, different kind of clapping, hand gestures…

I did like the incorporation of traditional Irish dance in to the mix. I have a friend who has a daughter who participates in Irish dance competitively and some of the dance moves I saw from Colin Dunne reminded me of her and he performances. I am glad folks enjoyed it…

Leave a comment